UAlbany's Kelly Among Top Three In Voting For 2023 Buck Buchanan Award

UAlbany's Kelly Among Top Three In Voting For 2023 Buck Buchanan Award

Bookmark and Share

FCS Trio Invited to 2023 Buck Buchanan Award Announcement | The Analyst

RICHMOND, Va. (December 5, 2023) – UAlbany senior linebacker Dylan Kelly is among the top three in the voting for the 2023 Buck Buchanan Award, which goes to the best defensive player in FCS football and is presented by FedEx Ground.

Kelly received an invitation to the announcement of the award, which will take place at the Stats Perform FCS National Awards Banquet on Jan. 6 in Frisco, Texas prior to the national championship game. He will be joined by Tennessee State defensive end Terrell Allen and Lafayette linebacker Billy Shaeffer.

Kelly earned CAA Defensive Player of the Year honors in 2023 after a sensational all-around season. He leads the CAA and ranks second nationally with 148 tackles, breaking a school season record set in 1974. In addition to the impressive tackle numbers, Kelly has contributed 8.5 tackles for loss, 3.0 sacks, two interceptions, two fumble recoveries and a forced fumble. He has played a key role for a Great Danes’ defense that ranks #1 in FCS against the run (75.9 ypg), #8 in total defense (296.8 ypg) and #8 in scoring defense (16.8 ppg). UAlbany has reached the quarterfinals of the FCS playoffs for the first time in school history.

The Buck Buchanan Award, first presented in 1995, has a distinguished history of recipients, including two-time winner Dexter Coakley, Rashean Mathis, Jared Allen and Arthur Moats.
UAlbany defensive end Anton Juncaj, Richmond linebacker Tristan Wheeler and William & Mary defensive end Nate Lynn were also among 30 finalists for the Buchanan Award.